Organisational structure

The Rhine-Waal Euroregion is a Dutch-German public body with about 55 member organisations, including municipalities, regional governments, and chambers of commerce from the border region.

Euroregion Council
The Euroregion Council is the most important decision-making body in the Rhine-Waal Euroregion. All member organisations are represented in the council, which consists of 136 representatives in total and convenes at least twice a year. The Euroregion Council makes the strategic decisions for the further development of the Rhine-Waal Euroregion. Please klick here for the List of all representatives.

Euroregion Council committees
Three committees have been set up in preparation for the council decision:
• Committee for Cross-border Rapport
• Committee for Economic Affairs
• Committee for Finances and Projects

The committees each consist of eighteen Euroregion Council representatives. They advise on issues such as current developments, project approval, and the Rhine-Waal Euroregion’s budget.

Chairmanship and Management Board
The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Rhine-Waal Euroregion are selected from the ranks of the Euroregion Council. Their term of office lasts four years. The committee chairs and three other members of the Euroregion Council complete the Management Board, whose main responsibilities are the preparation and execution of council decisions and the general management of the the Rhine-Waal Euroregion Secretariate. The Management Board members are:

Management Board Members

Ulrich Francken, Mayor of Weeze, Chairman of the Rhine-Waal Euroregion, and Chairman of the INTERREG Germany-Netherlands Regional Steering Group

Hubert Bruls, Mayor of Nijmegen and  Vice Chairman of the Rhine-Waal Euroregion
Member of the INTERREG Germany-Netherlands Supervisory Committee


Sören Link, Mayor of Duisburg


Thomas Ahls, Mayor of Alpen and Chairman of the Committee for Finances and Projects


Dr. Stefan Dietzfelbinger, Director of the Lower Rhine Chamber of Commerce in Duisburg, Wesel and Kleve, and Chairman of the Committee for Economic Affairs

Karel van Soest, Mayor of Boxmeer and Chairman of the Committee for Cross-border Rapport

Agnes Schaap, Mayor of Renkum
Geert van Rumund, Mayor of Wageningen


The Rhine-Waal Euroregion Secretariate [link] is established in Haus Schmithausen in Kleve and currently counts 31 Dutch and German staff members.